Yediyurappa wins Karnataka trust vote.

The three-day old BJP government in Karnataka headed by on Monday proved its majority in the truncated state Assembly winning the confidence motion by a voice vote in a smooth affair.

Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar announced his resignation soon after Yediyurappa won the trust vote in a process lasting less than an hour after the House met.

With the BJP comfortably placed in the numbers game after the disqualification of 17 rebel MLAs that reduced the effective strength of the House, the opposition Congress and JDS did not press for division.

The Speaker declared that the one-line motion expressing confidence in the Ministry headed by Yeddiyurappa had been adopted by the House.

On the eve of the trust vote, Kumar had disqualified 11 Congress MLAs and three JDS lawmakers till the end of the current term of the House in 2023, in addition to three earlier, bringing down the majority mark to 105, equivalent of the current strength of 105 of the BJP, which also enjoyed the support of an Independent.